The Idiot’s Guide To Everyday Life


Why can’t my ex even ACT like he cares about the kids?
27.May.06, 23:18 pm
Filed under: My Munchkins, Our Little Nest, Rants

I understand our marriage is over. I'm the one who ended it. Simple enough. But why does he seem to think that ends his ties to his children as well??

My ex, J, didn't bother to call either one of the kids last week on their birthdays. He didn't bother to even show up for their party today. I honestly don't know why this surprises me. He did the same thing last year, only he showed up to their party for about 10 minutes, because he got to eat something, and his mom was there with his car insurance papers. He didn't call them at Christmas last year, never even got them a gift. He didn't see them from Thanksgiving until late February, by choice.

I ask him to spend time with them. I have NEVER, under ANY circumstance tried to keep the kids from him. All he does is give excuses. He's got a 1 yr old daughter with Crisco (I call her this to keep from saying "Lardass" in front of the kids all the time, since she weighs about 400 lbs and you honestly couldn't tell the entire time she was prego!) and he seems to think that since his new daughter was born, he can just walk away and forget that these kids came first. They were his children long before Crisco came along. They deserve so much more.

He knows he can't do anything to hurt me directly anymore, because I just don't give a fuck. But now he uses the children to do it. He spends NO time with them, and then he tells me I'm a bitch because Jocelyn calls Dale daddy. She started doing that on her own, because she knows who is in her life everyday and who has helped me raise her for the past 2.5 years. Dale would get up with me in the middle of the night when she was 3 months old, and hold her, and rock her while I fixed a bottle. Dale would hold her when she was teething and couldn't get to sleep and let her snuggle on his chest until she was out cold. Dale is the one who helped me to teach her to walk, and was there for her first words and steps. Dale is the one who helps me everyday with her. J, on the other hand, does NOTHING to help me, and even gripes everytime I talk to him about the fact that DHS is taking child support out of his paycheck. He should have thought about that before he THREW AWAY HIS CAREER by his own stupidity. He should have thought about how he was going to afford to help me raise the kids before he got Crisco pregnant (on my couch, no less). If she'd get up off her fat ass and get a job, they wouldn't keep getting evicted everywhere they go. But no, at 27, she still didn't have her GED when they got together. I don't care that he can't afford to support her lazy ass. It's not my problem. He should have thought about it before he unzipped his pants.

Oh well, life goes on. And my children know they are loved. They've got 2 parents here who love them, even if one isn't blood. We do the best we can to provide for them, even the little luxuries like a new bicycle and tricycle for thier birthdays, and satellite television so they can watch the evil-that-is-spongebob 24 hrs a day, and toys, and movies, and video games galore. We do our very best to let them know, that even if J isn't around much, they can always count on us, and will be well taken care of.

If you ask me, my kids seem pretty happy. I guess the upside of J not coming around much, is that it shows me that I'm a pretty strong person, and a good parent on my own, without him. My kids aren't blind, they aren't stupid. They know how he is, and someday, he'll want a relationship with them. Just like my father, he'll come back into their lives a little too late.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

