The Idiot’s Guide To Everyday Life


My hero
2.Jun.06, 19:30 pm
Filed under: Friends & Fam, Our Little Nest, Tidbits About My Life

Many people, when naming their hero will name their father. See previous post.

My hero is my great-grandmother, Mozell Hunter. She is 90-years-old, and sharp as a tack. We had to talk her out of mowing her own lawn 2 years ago after she got a pacemaker put in. (I don't mean with a riding mower, I mean with a PUSH mower!) She's strong and independent, and I don't know what I'd do without her.

My grandmother has outlived both parents, a brother, and 2 husbands, and in the almost 30 years I've been alive, I've never seen her cry. I've never heard her raise her voice in anger. I've never heard her call anyone a bad name or lash out. She never once spanked me growing up, though I probably deserved it. The closest she ever came was swatting my hands one time when I was about 7.

Out of everyone in my family, I can honestly say that my Granny is the one person who has NEVER given up on me, no matter what I've done in my life, no matter where I've gone, she's always been there for me and believed in me. She's always been the one I could talk to about anything, knowing she would never judge me. When my mother shipped me off as a teenager, Granny called her on the phone and laid into her good. I wish I could have been a fly on the wall for that conversation! She was the only one who stood up for me. She doesn't get mad often or easily, but she cannot stand my step-thing for the way he has treated me and my mother, but my mother puts up with it willingly, so she doesn't say anything to my mother about it.

When I was in my car accident in 1996, she was at the hospital before the ambulence got ME there! And her sister, Nadene, told me that she had to call my mother because my Granny couldn't do it without crying. I never saw a tear. She hid them from me so I wouldn't be scared.

If I can be half the mother, half the woman my Granny has been in my life, I will consider myself to have accomplished something great. She is the strongest woman I know, and the most true to herself. I know that as her years add up, she won't be with us forever, and it saddens me to think that my children might not have her in their lives when they're old enough to appreciate how wonderful she truly is. I hope that if the time comes someday, I can do her justice in the stories I tell about how amazing she has been in my life.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

