The Idiot’s Guide To Everyday Life


Trick-or-Treat
21.Oct.06, 23:14 pm
Filed under: Friends & Fam, Holidays, My Munchkins, Our Little Nest

I have the kids’ Halloween costumes complete now. Josie is going to be Tinkerbell and Jaden is going to be Superman. Now, while this might seem an easy statement to make, I must tell you it was far from an easy ordeal. I never knew before just how difficult it was to find THE Tinkerbell costume for my 3 yr old. It had to be the perfect one. I spent well over 4 hours online one night last week trying to find the right one, and finally gave up when I could only find 2 online vendors that weren’t sold out and they wanted $50 for the dress Josie would only be wearing for 2-3 hours max. I am NOT paying that much for a costume that will spend more time in the back of the closet than it will on my daughter. Luckily, the next day when I went to the walmart on I-240, they had ONE cute Tink costume and it happened to be in her size, so I snatched it up, and proceeded to find her a tiara, wand, and “Princess Pail” that she demanded had to go with her costume. She also now has pink shimmer tights and “pixie makeup” that Dale will be applying. That’s the nice thing about having an artist as a boyfriend. Fantasy art is his forte, so he can make her into the perfect pixie.

Jaden wanted to be something scary for Halloween this year, but Josie got scared just sitting on my lap while he was looking through the costume shops online, so I said he would have to wait a while before I’d let him wear something scary or he’d scare her too bad. He then decided he wanted to be a Pirate. When I got to the costume store, the only pirate costumes they had looked really gay, so I had to go for his second choice- one of the boys from Narnia, Peter Pevensie. The only knight costume I could find looked just as bad as the pirate, so I just gave up and settled on Superman. He’s happy with that, and it was only $12.97, so I’m considering myself lucky. His costume doesn’t need makeup, tights, a wand, or anything else, so I’m glad that was easy. Boys are so much easier to dress for Halloween.

Only a week and a half to go. I hope I can keep them out of their costumes that long. Every morning when Josie wakes up she asks me if she can put on her costume now. Poor little thing, it breaks her heart when I tell her no, but I know she’ll be the cutest little Tinkerbell on the block. I can’t wait to put them in their costumes and take them around. They’ll get lots of loot!

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

