The Idiot’s Guide To Everyday Life


Nothing worse than sick kids
15.Dec.06, 08:56 am
Filed under: Friends & Fam, Holidays, My Munchkins, Our Little Nest

My babies are sick. I guess I shouldn’t call them babies anymore, they’re 7 and 3, but to me, they’ll always be my babies. They’ve both had bad colds, and I took them to the doctor on Tuesday morning, and he said Jaden’s is trying to turn into bronchitis and Josie’s is causing infections in both ears. Joy.

Josie is on sulfameth (antibiotic) and I’m worried that she’s having a reaction to it. I give it to her every night, and then every night before bed she projectile vomits! Jeff is allergic to Sulfa, so I’m worried that she’s inherited his allergy, along with his ghostly paleness and red hair. I’m taking this morning off from work again and taking her back to the dr, or seeing if he’ll call in a different prescription for her. Poor little thing, even if I give her cough syrup, she throws it up immediately. I don’t know what else to do for her, and it kills me.

Jaden is doing better. He’s on a different antibiotic, and he takes pills, so he’s coughing less and feeling better. He’s been running around and playing at daycare in the afternoons after school, so I’m sure he’s fine. I tried to get him dressed for school Wednesday morning and could only find 1 pair of pants that fit, so I went to Old Navy on my lunch hour and got him 3 new outfits and 1 for Josie. He’s in heaven. He loves getting new stuff. Dale’s mom got Josie a new pink faux-fur coat. He got jealous, but she gave him his coat a  month ago when it first turned really cold. She also got him new Skechers and some new shirts and an outfit at Kohl’s, so he’s got to get over this jealous streak.

Meanwhile, Josie won’t take her coat off once it’s on. Yesterday, Miss Heather at daycare had to tell her that if she wouldn’t take it off to eat her breakfast she was going to get milk and cereal down the front of it and it would be nasty, so she took it off, but made them hang it on the back of her chair and put it right back on when she was finished. It’s a little too big for her, but she doesn’t care. The hood is big enough that she can hide her whole head under it, so she plays peek-a-boo under it. “Look mommy, I’m under HERE!” Jaden told her she looked like a little pink polar bear, and she said, “No, I’m a pink bunny rabbit.” She’s too cute. I’ve got to steal my batteries back from Dale’s 360 controller to put in my digi camera so I can take pics of her in it.

My kids are the best, even when they get their attitudes, I wouldn’t know what to do without them. My favorite role in life is being a mom. I love nothing more than snuggling up with them at night and Jaden and I work on teaching Josie new numbers. She counts to 15 on her own, but every night we go up 5 more and count with her over and over until she learns them on her own. Jaden is proud to be helping to teach his little sister. He got all A’s and 1 B+ on his report card 2 weeks ago!!! I was so proud of him!!!! His B+ was in reading, and he’s been improving by leaps and bounds in reading in the last few weeks. He reads anything you put in front of him. Even signs and such as we go down the road, he’ll sound it out until he gets it right. He’s like I was when I was little, he reads boxes and papers in front of him when he sits down anywhere. He loves new words.

I’m going to do my Christmas Shopping tomorrow. I know, I’m behind, but I’m getting my first paycheck from my new job tomorrow, I got paid from the schools on Wednesday (for OCTOBER!) and I got child support in on Wednesday also, so I actually have money to shop with this weekend. I just hope Wal-Mart or Toys-R-Us has at least ONE TJ Bearytales left. Josie will be VERY unhappy if they don’t. Jaden has been begging for a dirtbike. I told him to be realistic, he said, “Ok, an electric dirtbike.” I said, “You’re 7, think again.” I will probably be getting him a dirtbike or motorcycle game for his xbox, and a few more games to go with it. Since Dale got his 360, Jaden gets to have the old xbox in his room, so he needs more games on his level.

Hopefully, it won’t be TOOOOOO crowded this weekend when I go to the mall, but I doubt I’ll get that wish. It’s a week before Christmas. Everyone will be out in droves doing the same thing I am. At least Dale will be here with the kids, so I’ll get a little peace and quiet. I’m also going to have my presents wrapped at the mall, so they’ll be ready to just put under the tree when I get home. Screw the wrapping paper and bows…. I’m not messing with it. The kids or the cat would be all over it. I think I’m also going to take the kids to JC Penney or Sears to have pics taken with them this weekend as well. I haven’t had a picture taken of the three of us EVER. I’m such an awful parent, but I hate having my picture taken. I’m not photogenic. I just want a pic with my kids though. It’s time.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

