The Idiot’s Guide To Everyday Life


Farewell to Furball

Our sweet cat, Furball the Fabulous, passed away today.

He got out last weekend and we couldn’t find him for a couple of days. Jaden finally found him and brought him home. He hid in the house and was walking a little funny on his back legs, but we didn’t know how bad it really was because he stayed hidden and we didn’t see the wound.

Apparently, he was out tomcatting and another cat got ahold of him when they fought over a female and basically gnawed his back end open. It was horrible. I took him to the emergency vet hospital over here and they sewed him up, but this morning, when I woke up, he had feces all around the incision area and I tried using a baby wipe to clean him, but he just mewed like it was killing him, so I turned the water on in the shower very low and took down the sprayer to gently clean him off, and that’s when I saw that it was coming open again, and the fecal matter was coming from inside the wound itself. I rushed him back to the emergency vet and they said that his colon was ruptured really bad, and surgery would be very expensive to fix it, if he even COULD be saved. They said more than likely we would lose him in the process, so the only humane thing to do would be to put him down.

It tore me up, but I had to have him put to sleep. I loved our cat, and so did the kids. I came home and told them and they both cried. I baked cookies to make them feel better and we all had a sad afternoon, but I think they’re going to be ok. Jaden wants to go out and get another cat RIGHT NOW, but I said we need to wait just a little while. We just lost him today, we need to wait and then think it over before we go get a new cat. The new cat won’t be the same, won’t replace our Furball, and we will still miss him.

I got attached to Furball. We’ve had him for about 8 months. We found him as a little kitten, just a tiny ball of fur, which is how he got his name. He was the sweetest little thing. He slept next to me most nights, snuggled up with his head on my pillow. He was my living bookmark anytime I lay down to read. He would climb up, lay his head on my arm, and put his tail in the crease of my book. He just HAD to be pet. I loved him so much. I know if we get a new cat it won’t be the same. Furball was a rare, special little soul. I can only hope we can find one half as sweet as him someday.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

