The Idiot’s Guide To Everyday Life


From gainfully employed to indentured servitude
23.Mar.07, 08:54 am
Filed under: Rants, Work

Ok, when I got this job, it was supposed to be a LOT different. The woman I’ve been working for wanted a “girl friday” basically, to do her bookeeping for her, to write out checks to pay her bills, and to help her pick up around the house. It’s a great job, and I love doing it, don’t get me wrong. But instead of actually paying me min wage or anything, she’s been paying me $100 per week to work FULL TIME.

When I substitute teach I get $200 a week, and I don’t have to drive very far. I am paying $50 a week in gas right now just to get back and forth out there, and I am making less than HALF of minimum wage. The woman is worth over $3 million!!! I balance her checkbooks everyday, so I know how much cash she has on hand, hell, she wrote a $24,000 check out to her 3 yr old daughter on Monday just for the hell of it. Her words, “Well, at least I know it’s going somewhere other than more vehicles for my husband to sell.” Yet she’s this cheap when it comes to paying someone to actually work for her.

I sat down and had a talk with her about it, and she’s like, “Well, pretty soon we’ll be moving things out to the storage barn, so I won’t need you to do as much, and it won’t be full time anymore, but I can understand that’s not much money.” Then she just changed the subject, “I’m going to go get my manicure and pedicure now, so if you can watch my daughter until I get back I’ll leave your money under the cookbook in the kitchen and you can take it when you go and my husband can take over at 5”. Ok, so I thought we had an understanding that $100 a week wasn’t going to cut it.

I go downstairs an hour and a half later…. under the cookbook is a $100 bill. Nothing changed. I’m sorry, but I can’t work for peanuts. I have bills to pay. Everyday I turn down sub teaching jobs when the computer calls me, just so I can go out there and work for nothing, thinking she’s going to finally start being fair with me. No. I won’t do it. It would be sheer stupidity to continue to go out there when I could make twice as much money, for less hours, and for less wasted gas, to teach locally.

I love their family, they’re the sweetest people in the world. But I won’t work for nothing.

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

Nor should you have to work for nothing. It sounds like you’ve done your best to gently tell them that it’s a problem. Hopefully it won’t surprise them too much when you decide to quit.

Good luck!

Comment by kristinlm




Leave a Reply

