The Idiot’s Guide To Everyday Life


Higher Learning
14.Aug.07, 10:51 am
Filed under: Goals, My Munchkins, Plans, School

Today started the school year for Moore Public Schools. Jaden is now in the third grade. Josie doesn’t start Pre-K for another week at La Petite. Jaden has been saying for the past 2 weeks that he hoped he got Mrs. Crosby as his teacher, because she was “the nicest teacher he knows”. Last night I got a call from Mrs. Crosby, and sure enough, he’s in her class. He was bouncing and grinning from ear to ear!

After I dropped him off at school this morning, I faxed USAO a transcript request and went over to MWC with Wendy. After 12 years, I’m going back to college. Rose State College offers a degree in Paralegal Studies. It’s the only accredited college in OKC that offers it, and I enrolled for my first semester today. I’ll be considered on Academic Probation, because of my lovely history at USAO.

I was totally unprepared for college after MP, and royally messed up my GPA. I wanted to enroll, but I never wanted to go to class. I was enjoying life for the first time. I was on my own and freedom was too sweet. And after the “education” I received at MP, I couldn’t sit through a class with an actual teacher without falling asleep. PACEs are not a substitute for an actual teacher, I don’t give a damn what they say.

As luck would have it, with my mother as a professor at Rose, I get my tuition waived. My 12 credit hours will cost me all of $166 in fees, and then books. I was able to look up my books in the online bookstore and then go to a different site and buy them for $43, so they’ll be here before I start classes next week. That’s an entire semester for $200!! This is a real blessing, because with defaulted student loans I was afraid I was going to have to go completely out of pocket and only take 4 to 6 hrs at a time. I can go full time now and still not have to pay too much.

After this semester, I’ll be eligible for “academic renewal”. Basically, I go in and meet with the Dean, and they will scrub my GPA from USAO off my record. The classes will still show up on my transcript, but they won’t apply towards my GPA. The only bad thing about that is that I passed Comp I already, so I’ll have to clep that in order to finish the rest of my classes. Oh well, the clep for Freshman Comp covers both I & II, so I won’t have to worry about taking the second one as well.

Jaden is home from school and happy about his day, but bummed because he has math homework on the first day of school. Oh well, it’s just addition and subtraction. He’ll have that finished in no time. I’m so proud of my boy. He’s so smart, he’ll do great things this year, I know it.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

