The Idiot’s Guide To Everyday Life


Chop Chop
31.Aug.07, 13:11 pm
Filed under: Tidbits About My Life

I went for a haircut today. I had been planning to cut it off for a little while now, since it’d make it easier to get ready for school in the mornings. I wanted it shoulder length, but the girl I went to had other ideas. My layers start about the top of my ears and the longest layer is chin length. It looks hideous. I was so mad I was crying on the way home. Now I’ve got to find someone to fix this shit. This is possibly the worst haircut I’ve ever had.

 On top of this, Josie has a minor infection in both ears and swollen tonsils, and last night we had to rid ourselves of a headlice epidemic in both kids. Note to readers: Listerine and vinegar kill headlice!! Saturate your hair with Listerine, put on a shower cap. Wait 2 hrs. Rinse with plain white vinegar. Shampoo. Twice. Condition. The lice will just fall out. There was not a single bug left in either kids’ hair afterwards. I treated mine too just to prevent it from spreading. The eggs are another problem, but a quick fix: Mayonaise. Not Miracle whip, it doesn’t have the same oils. Plain old Mayo – take 4 to 6 tablespoons (depending on how much hair you have to treat) put in a bowl and microwave for 10 to 2o seconds to take the chill out. Use a rubber spatula and apply directly to the roots of hair as though you’re coloring it, then smoothe down the length of the hair on top of it. Put shower cap back on. Wait 1 hr. Shampoo. Twice. Condition. The lice nits have a tiny hole in the end that allows oxygen to get in. The mayo suffocates the egg, and has an added bonus of making them slippery so they’ll slide out of the hair. You might have a few left in the hair that you’ll have to remove with a tiny comb, but they’ll be dead.

I’m itching just thinking about this crap, and I’ve got to finish washing all of the bedding today. It’s going to be a LONG weekend.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

