The Idiot’s Guide To Everyday Life


How could a parent do this?
27.Feb.08, 22:22 pm
Filed under: Opinions

I met a guy on a single parents’ forum last fall who was a local here and we ended up meeting and having lunch. Come to find out he was looking for something I wasn’t and tried to play several of the girls in the forum against one another in the process, but that’s another story.

Apparently I dodged a bullet, literally. Tonight I was watching Men In Trees, and when it went off I caught the first ten minutes of the news and whose picture do they post, but Dustin’s. Apparently he went over the edge and killed his two children and then shot himself in a murder/suicide rampage. I would never have believed he could have been that kind of person, but I guess I didn’t know him at all.

What on earth could be bad enough to make a man kill his own children? How could any parent look their sweet child in the eye and take a gun to them? I understand he was stressed out over his recent divorce. It doesn’t matter how much you hate your ex, I don’t care what they did, you never hurt a child. You never use a child as a weapon against them. That mother now has to live the rest of her life without the children she gave birth to and loved with all her heart. What saddens me most is that I met the little boy. He was an adorable child, with a huge smile and big brown eyes that could melt your heart. To imagine the fear those children must have gone through when their father came after them with a gun is just mind blowing.

And to top it off, he had just come back from Iraq last summer. Now you’re going to hear about people attributing this to post-traumatic stress and all the like, but this is unforgivable. I’m sorry, I know there are horrors seen in the war that are atrocities to human life, but that is no excuse for killing your own innocent children.

I’m going to go hug my babies tight right now and tell them I love them. He should have done the same.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

