The Idiot’s Guide To Everyday Life


Artistic Ingenuity
29.Apr.08, 11:30 am
Filed under: Goals, Plans, Tidbits About My Life, Work

I work in an auto repair shop which also rents uHaul trucks. This sounds pretty mundane, until you realize that this auto repair shop also houses the workshop for The Woodchuck Chop, one of my boss’ many other ventures. The Woodchuck Chop is a gallery in the Paseo Arts District that deals in custom cedar furniture and sculptures, wood artwork, custom carved marble pieces, sandblasted stone art and sculpture, sandblasted glass art, and more. We also do custom cut vinyl lettering for signs and window art on cars and buildings. He also installs decorative fountains for ponds, or what I call “waterscaping”.

Basically I’m the new Girl Friday for a Jack-of-all-trades.

Yesterday, my boss told me he really wants to kick the vinyl cutting into high gear. The Paseo Arts Festival is coming up on Memorial Day weekend and he wants me to work at the gallery for him then. He said we can custom cut the vinyl on the spot and make anything the customer asks for. We’re putting together some show boards to preview what we can do, and that way we can just save the files pre-drawn, and add lettering as requested, and sell dozens or even hundreds of them that weekend.

My cut: 50% of everything after costs!

This is a real opportunity to get my finances in good shape for the move. I can pay off the van, and stick the rest back for my new home. This is the best news I’ve had in a while! Things are really looking up for me for the first time in a very long time. I’d kind of forgotten what this felt like.

I’m going to be optimistic. I’m not going to hold my breath waiting for everything to fall apart. This will work out. I will move, and start my life over. My kids will be better off elsewhere, I will be better off elsewhere, and there are better things in life than Oklahoma City can offer us. Someone is definitely smiling on me right now.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

