The Idiot’s Guide To Everyday Life


Moving right along
4.Oct.09, 21:27 pm
Filed under: Tidbits About My Life

Driving an hour to work and back everyday, plus tolls and fuel, didn’t sit well with me. The fact that I lived in the ghetto where they shoot people across the street was even more of a nightmare. A week of solid packing, 2 professional movers and half a bottle of Aleve later, we’re now living in a two bedroom apartment on the North side of OKC, ten minutes from my new office!

Peter has so lovingly agreed to stay an additional two weeks to help with the transition. Mostly, I just didn’t want to let him go, but I also wanted him to spend our first night in our new home together. This is where he will come back to. This is where we will live as husband and wife when he returns. I didn’t want to go to a new place without him. So we did some adjusting and he’ll be staying here until next Sunday.

So let me tell you about the place: 2 bed/2 bath, with a laundry room and a full-sized washer and dryer. It’s a tiny bit smaller than my last apartment as far as storage space goes, but larger in square footage if you include the laundry room and the fact that the Master bath is a full, not a half. (I heart personal showers!) The closet isn’t a walk-in, which is a disappointment, but it’ll work. It’s much nicer than the old place all-around.

The complex I live in is quite big – 890 units total. There are 6 pools, 2 of which are indoor with attached hot tubs. Free tanning beds, a huge gym, complete with aerobics room, a theater room that seats 21, and lighted tennis courts. It’s a gated community, with 24hr courtesy patrol. It seems pretty nice so far, though they messed up and put me in an upstairs when I was assured I was getting a downstairs unit. Peter is happy with the upstairs, he likes the balcony. Looks like I’m going to have to get used to hiking up and down the stairs, and I’m going to need to invest in a little table for the balcony so he can sit out there and have his morning coffee.

It’s really going to be a home! Not just a house, not just an apartment… but OUR home. Now if we can just start getting rid of some of these boxes.

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

You were right to persuade me to stay. My time was much better spent with you setting up our home. Even though I grumbled initially about earning money and such, you were smarter, you showed me why you felt you were right, and I couldnt deny your logic.

Comment by eggplantinspace




Leave a Reply

