The Idiot’s Guide To Everyday Life


It’s been a while…
24.May.10, 21:01 pm
Filed under: Tidbits About My Life

So it’s been a while since my last post. Time for an update into my ever-changing world.

February 12 – I was laid off from AmeriClaim due to “budget cuts”. Read: Idiots in charge can’t run a business and started blaming everyone around them for their own failings and when they couldn’t afford to make payroll, they started letting people go. I’m lucky, I got unemployment, but after me, they started coming up with bogus “cause” to fire people so they wouldn’t get hit with a massive unemployment rate spike.

February 16 – An idiot immigration attorney told me that it would be a good idea to get Peter to apply for a tourist visa and come over here for us to get married, then apply for the green card from here. They said there was a loophole that could be exploited if we didn’t let on to INS that it was our INTENT to bypass the fiance visa process. Thanks to this idiot, Peter’s visa was denied, and we had to start the K1 Fiance Visa process from scratch, in the meantime, he can no longer come here to visit due to the fact that he was denied a visa for any reason.

March 13 – 21st – I spent a wonderful, albeit exhausting week with my husband-to-be and his family. I will elaborate more on this in a later post.

March 29 –  Started new job at Clearwater Enterprises. Better job, I’ve never been happier in a company. The people I work with are nice, friendly, easy to get along with. I really enjoy what I do, and the money is great. I can’t complain at all.

May 3 – After my brakes decided to start to fail on my minivan I traded in Silver for Gold and got a 2006 Hyundai Sonata LX. It’s beautiful, fully loaded, with leather, the works. I REALLY like this car.

May 7 – Sent off K-1 Fiance Visa paperwork to the USCIS processing center. The blanket processing time according to the USCIS website is 5 months, but from what I’m reading on several other websites from people who have just been through it, the actual processing time is 2 to 3 months on this side, then 4 to 6 weeks at the London Embassy where he’ll have his interview and medical exam. If all goes smoothly, we could have the NOA2 (Stateside) approval by early to mid July, and the London approval by mid-September. There are no guarantees, it could go quickly and easily… it could require administrative processing and take until the USCIS/INS/NVC get around to it.

May 15 – The kids’ birthday party once again. My little angels have turned 11 and 7. I can’t believe how big they’re getting!!! We had a party at my mom’s house with a BBQ and cupcakes and our family. It was a great time, and they got loads of presents, including lots of new Wii games.

May 16 – My pretty new car is now cracked. A major hailstorm came through and cracked my windshield and peppered my hood, roof, trim and trunk lid with dents. I’ve had it inspected by an insurance adjuster, just waiting for the insurance company to decide how much they’re going to pay out for the damage so I can get it fixed. I’m lucky it didn’t destroy the windshield completely or damage my sunroof. There are lots of people in my area that had their windshields completely shattered or are driving around with windshields that look like they’ve been beaten with baseball bats. (And are STILL ON THE ROADS!!)

May 19 –  The neighbor whose granddaughter I frequently babysit on weekends while she works double shifts, who was supposed to be watching my kids this summer, decides to tell me 2 days before the kids get out of school for the summer that she’s not going to be able to watch them for 3 to 4 weeks due to an impending root canal. I’ve never heard of a root canal requiring a month’s recovery time… but there you go. So now I’m screwed, with no backup childcare, because I can’t afford a daycare center, and in the past five years, I’ve never been able to count on my ex paying his share of the childcare cost. (Did I mention he didn’t even bother to call our daughter on her birthday? And spoke to both of them for all of a total of 5 minutes on Jaden’s? Father of the Year.) He’s agreed to watch them in the mornings Tues through Fridays, but he goes to Lawton every weekend and can’t be bothered coming back up here 3 Mondays to help with them. I asked him for ONE month, which includes a holiday, so only 3 Mondays, and he’s not spent time with them since Christmas, but coming back a night early is too much to ask. Stellar parenting.

May 24 – Today. Here we stand, waiting for something to happen on the visa front. Waiting for a small miracle or streak of good luck to allow us to be together, be a family. I’d give anything just to be with him right now, but I know it’s a matter of patience. I’ve never been very good with patience. I’m hoping to have at least a receipt number from the INS within the week. I just need something to give me hope, something to tell me that at least ONE thing is going right. This is going to be a very long wait on pins and needles, but I need this to happen. I need Peter here. I need my family to be together. Nothing is right without him. Nothing works, nothing fits without him. Here’s hoping that his visa goes according to plan.

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

June 4th.. My man won the lottery last week. He’s rich!!! He showed the immigration people his bank account and they instantly gave him a visa!! He is currently lying in my bed exhausted!
Thank you thank you thank you

June 7th.. We moved into a beautiful house with a big garden and a swimming pool. I’m so happy.

June 12th… The USA beat England in the world cup!!! What a month

July 2nd… I am married. With our new found wealth we had loads of surprise guests, like David Tennant (the old Dr Who!). I nearly called the whole thing off when I saw him, but it turns out he is already married. Booo

July 15th.. USA have won the World Cup. They’re all going crazy here. Who’d have thought there were so many soccer fans in Oklahoma!

August 14th.. I’m pregnant! Could this year get any better!

September 29th.. We are in Chile, enjoying the celebrations with my man’s family. There’s so much color and music!

December 25th.. Xmas day with my soon to be expanding family. I couldn’t be happier

Comment by eggplantinspace




Leave a Reply

